Options

Finances...making it work being single

Everyone,
I read (Rhynhl's) concern about "what if" you have twins...I too worry about having more than one baby and being able to afford it financially! Don't get me wrong...I would absolutely love to get two at one shot :-) !!!! But, I am a school teacher and I'm almost 35 years old and my income is about 40K. Good for a single person but add in daycare and family insurance????? What if something goes wrong?

I am in the beginning stages with my doctor for ICI! I wonder about who I would find for daycare? A home daycare would really be cheaper I know. There is no other option for me as of yet. I am just wondering about anyone else is in my situation and if they too worry like me. I'm not getting any younger and my situation is not going to change unless I make it change by making my own family which I have always wanted!

I can't control the "what if's" in life! I know that! "What if" my child needs medical care? Will my insurance be enough? I still plan to go through with ICI because of my love for my future children! Does anyone else share my concerns?

Comments

• Options
    Kbart,
    We'll have to keep in touch. I'm a school teacher also. I'm 36. I feel like we have a lot in common. We seem to have many of the same concerns.
  • Options
    Hi Ladies,

During these economic times I think that everyone is concerned about money, especially when you're a single mom. So, I guess the best advice for all is to look at areas of our lives that we can cut. Talk to your phone carriers and cable company to lower your bills. Shop with coupons, when grocery shopping. Also, go to bargain stores like TJ Maxx and Marshalls to shop for clothing shoes and when the time comes even baby toys!