Options

im so confused!!! help!!!

okay, so. This is my first timed IUI. Today is cycle day 1 and i called my clinic and they said i will come in on day 10 and have a sonogram. but i guess this is not the day of insemination??? they something about a surge or something...i am so naive to all of this!!! when do i get to inseminate???

Comments

• Options
    Your LH surge, its when you get your first positive ovulation test, usually you inseminate the next morning (depending on how your doc times it) most women surge on day 14 but it can vary, I surged on day 17! Good Luck!!!
  • Options
    so on day 10 they will know when im going to surge?
  • Options
    im not 100% because i didnt have any sonogram before i got pregnant but i think they can tell if follicles are maturing so they can have a better estimate of when you will ovulate.....hopefully someone else replies and can clarify for you....your Dr. should be giving you more info then your obviously getting!!!
  • Options
    Angie~

When you say "timed" cycle what do you mean? Is this a non-medicated cycle or are you taking clomid with (or without) a trigger shot?

When I was on non-medicated cycles, I took the OPKs from cd10 on until I got the +, then called the clinic to schedule the IUI the following day. (OPK = ovulation predictor kit. Will tell you if you have had your "LH surge" which tells you them you are about to ovulate)

When I was on clomid/ovidrel, I always went in for a cd10 sonogram. They would visualize the follicles and if they were ready, schedule my trigger shot & IUI. If they weren't ready (too small), they'd typically bring me back for another sono in a day or 2 and go from there.
  • Options
    It's a non-medicated cycle.
    Do I get an OPK at any store or do I have to order it somewhere?
    I really hope this works the first time..we really can't finacially afford to do this again and still be stable enough to actually have a baby, ya know?!
    This is so stressful.
  • Options