Options

Just wanted to introduce myself

Hi, everyone,
I am brand new to this and wanted to reach out for some support and advice, but I honestly don't know where to begin with my questions! I'm 32 and single, and I have always wanted to be a mom, but I was diagnosed with PCOS when I was in college. I thought any kind of fertility treatments would be out of the question for me because I am a social worker and live on under $35,000 a year and I was imagining costs in the tens of thousands, so I had actually registered to take foster parenting classes this July. As July was getting closer, I started to feel ambivalent and began to question if foster-to-adopt was really the right path for me to take. Then, at my last appointment with my RE, he asked if I had thought about trying to have a baby. He said that with clomid, he thinks I have a really good chance of conceiving with a donor within the next couple years, but, as he said, when I'm 40 it probably won't be a possibility anymore. I shared my concerns about money and he told me that the cost is along the lines of $300-$500 per try, which makes this more of a realistic possibility for me. He gave me some literature and scheduled another appointment for next month. After talking to my parents and my best friend, who were all completely supportive, I decided that I at least have to give this a shot or I will regret it for the rest of my life. If it doesn't work, I can go back to my adoption plan and won't have to spend the rest of my life wondering what if. I feel that the doctor bringing up the subject when he did was an answer to my prayers for guidance on my path to having a child. And I think I can make it work financially, although this is still a big concern for me.

Anyway, I'm sorry to be so long-winded. Anyone in the same boat financially, or with PCOS? Any general advice for starting out on this journey? I would appreciate any guidance you may have to offer.

Thanks,
Natalie

Comments

• Options