Options

Going to 1st visit at fertility doc

Hi there,

I'm really new to this. My partner and I are going for our first new patient consultation with a fertility doc on 4/22. My primary ob/gyn felt she could do in-office IUI for me, but my partner feels weird about having the shipment come to our house. I do too.

We feel with a clinic at least we'd have a one-stop shop, so to speak. It's a bit more expensive - about $100 or so. But perhaps that is worth our peace of mind. I can't imagine driving around with it!

Do you have any suggestions for questions I should ask the doctor? My periods are regular (I've been tracking them since July 2008), and I'm healthy at 33 YO. I am wary of taking fertility drugs because my body has never been exposed to any sperm, so I feel I have no real way of knowing how it will react to a well-timed try.

Any suggestions or thoughts? I feel a bit lost and am not sure what to do or think.

Comments

• Options
    Azyogini~

Congratulations on your new journey!

Most doctors will suggest some early testing (hystosalpinogram) just to make sure there aren't any issues you are not aware of (fallopian tube blockage, etc).

Also, most doctors will allow you to do natural cycles, before moving to any of the fertility meds.

While I completely understand you wanting to start slow, don't wait too long before moving to the next step if what you are doing is not working. Too often it takes MUCH longer than you anticipate.

Best of luck to you!
    Kimberly
  • Options
    Hi Azyogini,
    Welcome aboard. Just wanted to echo the sentiments above. My partner and I started in November of last year. She (carrier) is relatively young (30 when we started), very healthy, VERY regular cycles, and like you, never exposed to sperm so we assumed we would have no problem.