Options

Financial Concerns

I have been reading about everyone trying multiple IUIs and/or IVF. I am just wondering if anyone has found creative ways to pay for all of this. My insurance does not have any fertility coverage at all, and I am a single teacher--so I am definitely not wealthy. I have been advised that IVF is my best option, but that is way out of my price range. My doctor is willing to try a few IUIs, but I need injectable medication. Between the cost of the medication, the doctor/ultrasound fees, and the donor fee, the cost is still way out of reach. Any ideas of how to pay for all of this or find less expensive sperm would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    If you live in Metro Boston, I have a single practitioner that doesn't charge much. The other way to look into a doctor is to look into the GLBT community and see if there is a doctor that just does IUI and doesn't charge much. Also ask your OB they maybe able to recommend someone that doesn't charge as much. I personnaly only did IUI's. Good luck.
  • Options
    You could take out a loan from a medical company if paying it slowly over time is a better option for you. The problem is that everything might not work and you are stuck paying back a loan for years with no baby, but it's an option. I did a few IUIs without my insurance paying, and then switched jobs to where my insurance did pay. Prior to coverage, my dr gave me the name of another patient who had unused medications. She basically got a 3 month prescription filled and then got pregnant on the second try. I bought the last month of prescriptions from her at her copay amount. That saved me a ton. You might check to see if your dr or any groups in your area know of someone who had left over meds they are willing to sell.