Options

Do fertility docs ask ?'s about your income?

Hi, I was wondering if any of you have had your drs ask you your income. I am worried that mine will. I obviously have enough money to raise a child or I wouldn't be doing this. But I am definetely not rich and don't have the level of money that all of those statistics and studies seem to think you need? Where do these studies have your child going to school Harvard preschool, wearing gucci shoes and Ralph Lauren clothes? The amount they seem to think you need in inrease in living costs is ridiculaous for the average person/ Anyway, have any of your doctors required you to dislcose your income level? Is this right for them to even do so when married couples don't have to get "preappproval" before deciding to get pregnant/become parents? thanks Nicole

Comments

• Options
    My doctor didn't ask me about my income. I'm a teacher, so I'm definately not rolling in the dough. :) I was the one that brought up the question about cost of procedures & such because I'm on a budget. He told me that I either wanted a child or not that money shouldn't matter. (I was a little shocked that he made that statement). Anway, Nicole... I wish you the best of luck. :)
  • Options
    Nicole - I don't have a fertility doctor, but when I spoke to my gynecologist about signing the form to get me signed up with CCB, she did ask about it. Not in a formal way, but more in a personal way. We have a good, friendly, personal relationship. I consider her a good family friend. And her only question was about whether or not I can handle the expense of a 3rd child (I already have 2). She knows I'm doing fine financially, but threw out the question with a few others - still more of a friendly discussion than anything else.