Options

Do you plan to tell your child

My husband and I are unsure if we should tell our child when they get older, that their dad isn't their biological father, and that we did use a donor to get pregnant. On one hand, I want to be honest with them, but on the other hand, I wouldn't want them to look at their dad any differently. My family does know that we were having infertility problems and are going to use a donor, but I'm wondering if down the road and if so, when, should we tell our child?

Comments

• Options
    I would think if everyone in the family knows you should definitely tell your child. I don't know how or when. It's probably something you'd always tell them so that it doesn't have to be a big heavy serious discussion at some point. It would be terrible if your child found out from anyone but you.

Good luck!
  • Options
    I'm a social worker and I've worked with a lot of teenagers struggling with major relationship issues with their parents. Trust is one of the most important things you can give your child, and if they ever found out you kept such a huge truth from them, it could be devastating to your family. You can help them with any issues they have from being born from a donor- you can't help them if you are the problem because you lied. Be honest from day one and they'll respect you for it. Good luck!
  • Options
    That makes sense and I guess I agree. I just don't know how you can tell your child from a young age and make them understand what it means. Adoption was an option we considered and I knew I would plan to tell my children from the beginning that they were adopted but I knew how to explain that. How do you explain a donor and how do I talk my husband into this. :(
  • Options