How many vials per IUI

I am new to this, but am wondering how many vials should you use per IUI procedure and how many would you suggest to order/store, etc.
I have had 3 pregnancies ( 2 miscarriages due to low progesterone, and 1 birth) with my ex. My current husband and I will be using a donor, and I'm wondering should I try first with 1 vial and then if it doesn't take, try 2 vials the next month? Did you purchase the vials you planned to use for that procedure or did you purchase more assuming you would be trying again next month and what was the outcome? How many of you are storing the same donor for a future attempt at pregnancy? I know everyone is different, but I'm just trying to get some advice on what most of you do. Thanks for all the help.

Comments

• They use one vial per IUI. I purchased 3 at first but it didn't work and my donor had sold out so I had to pick a new donor. Once again I purchased 3. I guess I was being optimistic again.
  • Do they always use 1 per IUI? I had read somewhere that if you wanted to use 2 to increase your chances, that was an option-? I'm being optimistic and assuming it will work within 3 tries since I've had no problems getting pregnant in the past. Baby dust to us....

When you get pregnant with a donor, do you think or have you ordered more vials to store for a future pregnancy so that the children had the same donor?
  • I just did my first IUI, and doctor insisted on doing two in one cycle, back-to-back, to insure results. So I used two vials. Have not thought about buying more yet, though he said the quality of the specimens was excellent. I will post here if it is successful.
  • My RE only uses 1 vial per IUI but I have heard of other places that use 2. I don't know if it is an option but you could definitely discuss it with your doc to see what he/she prefers.