Options

Ovulation Timing questions

I used a cheap ovulation kit before that didn't seem to work. Now that I will be going through an IUI process and spending a lot more money, I plan to get a digital one to insure I know when I am ovulating and that the IUI is done at the right time. I am going to try and watch my body for the next few months before starting IUI's to try and have a better idea. My question is when you do the ovulation kit and find the surge, do you want to get to your DR ASAP as in the next 24 hrs? Does time of day matter as far as am/pm/etc? I always thought you ovulated for 3 days, so as long as you are within those 3 days you have a decent chance. Am I all wrong here? Please help with how the timing of ovualation and doing an IUI works. Thank you,

Comments

• Options
    I am new to this also. I was told by my doctor to start doing the ovulation kit on day 10 (day 1 being the first day of your period). I am not sure how long you ovulate, but the sperm can live inside you for 3 days. I am trying my first IUI this month, probably Friday or Monday!
  • Options
    I have no idea. Can someone please help us? So when you detect your surge in an ovulation test, when do you want to go the the Dr after that? ASAP, next day? 12 hrs later? 24 hrs later?

Good luck and let me know how it goes!
  • Options
    Call your Dr. You are paying them a lot of money. They should answer all of your questions for you. Did you not have a consultation?
  • Options