Options

1st timer- Need Support!

I am getting ready to make the biggest decision of my life.. becoming a mother via artificial insemination using donor sperm. I am 30 years old, single, and no children. I have longed to be a mother but just havent found the right man to share my life with. I have thought about this for over a year now, and have decided that next year is my YEAR! No more waiting-- people have said I should wait till im a little older, but wait on what, a MAN? Thats crazy. Im scared going at it alone and excited all at the same time. Anyone have a smiliar situation? Or advice? What should I expect with the insemination process? Anything I can do to better prepare for a success rate? I have not been diagnosed with fertility issues, and considering im only 30, I am hoping that it will not take too long for a BFP.

Comments

• Options
    Hello

I am new to all of this too and am 31 and single. I plan to start trying to get a BFP next May or June. If you feel now is the time then I wouldn't worry about what everyone around you is saying. It sounds like you've taken the time to make the decision that is right for you, and no one but you knows what that is.

I also have not been diagnosed with fertility issues and am hoping that it will not be hard...if I'm as fertile as my mother I shouldn't have to try too hard to get that BFP. I plan to start tracking my ovulation next month so I have a few months to go off of and already talked to my doctor and she said she'll do the insemination for me.

Good luck to you :)
  • Options
    Good for you both! I, too, all but gave up trying to find "Mr. Right" (he's a myth, up there with the Loch Ness Monster and Bigfoot, IMHO LOL)

I would start taking a quality prenatal vitamin, and supplement with calcium. Omegas are good too.