Options

Donor information

I have always wondered if CCB requires donors to submit their transcripts, copies of their degrees etc to verify the information they give. This is something that is important to my husband and I and we look for donors who have done well in school because we are try to rule out potential issues like ADHD, Dyslexia, and so forth (I work in a school so I know how difficult these issues can be for kids). Someone who has done well in school often signifies calmness and the ability to focus. However, I just got done listening to a donor conversation and started to wonder how accurate the information they give is. So I guess my question is how do you verify this information? Are you just taking the donor's word for it or do you require paperwork for verification? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Hi JJR -

We verify the donor's enrollment in a 4-year university, which can be done through requests for transcripts and/or copies of degrees.

The donors spend 4-5 months going through the qualification process, and at any time if our donor coordinators, genetic counselors, physicians, etc. believe that the donor is not providing accurate information or find discrepancies, they can request additonal information and/or disqualify him. Please keep in mind that less than 1% of applicants actually make it through the qualification process.

If your concern is the risk of the donor's offspring having ADHD, dyslexia, or a learning disorder, I would highly recommend speaking to one of our genetics counselors at 877-743-6384. They will be able to provide you with helpful information.

Regards,

Nicole
    CCB
  • Options