Options

what makes one donor more popular than others?

I was just wondering..I cant seem to find anyone on here using my d.s. # 05749 but can find other particular d.s. id's a million times on this discussion board?

just find it interesting, maybe it's my sociology background..

Comments

• Options
    Well, just an fyi....most of the "popular donor" have the nice physically appealing characteristics but in my own opinion and I am a nurse....medical history should also be a huge part in the decision. Some of the donors seem to be quite popular but when I did my research, found such things as; pancreatic cancers, breast cancers, alcoholism. Big NO NO's in my mind. Also, my donor never came up either and then all of a sudden, someone bought a huge amount of his vials. I had to panic and purchase a ton as well. Now he is retired.
    Good Luck.
  • Options
    i think it also depends on who purchased the sperm. i have friends who purchased a now retired donor and they would never have posted on the message boards. some people just aren't into posting.

i also agree with jennifer... my girlfriend and i found what we thought would be the perfect donor until we saw his medical records. all four grandparents have high blood pressure and there was some prostate and colon cancer mixed in as well. i'd rather have a healthy kid who can't throw a ball and doesn't look like brad pitt then one with potential health risks. that said, both our dad's have had heart attacks and heart bi-pass surgery... that could obviously be passed along, but we'd rather take our chances with a cleaner medical history.

and honestly, i'd rather have a donor that isn't popular then is... i always have this funny fear of being on an oprah type show in 30 years with all 50 of my kids' half siblings on the stage and meeting the donor for the first time.
  • Options