Options

new at this and cant't decide

I am new at this, and I am having a lot of trouble picking out which donor I want to use. I am looking at about 5 now. I start out with two, but were unhappy with the medical backgrounds. As I researched more individuals I realized no one will have a perfect picture. I am looking at 11510 and 11491 If any advise or just to talk with someone who has been through this already would be great. My husband is unable to have kids and as far as I know I am OK. I do have Factor five which I am not sure how it will affect my Preg.
thanks

Comments

• Options
    You're right that no one will be perfect when you're picking them out of the catalog. But for the vast majority of people, whichever donor results in a live healthy baby will seem perfect to you at that point.

(FWIW, the donor we got pregnant with was not our first choice, and we only ordered one vial when we ordered, planning to switch the next month. While there are some factors I wish I'd paid more attention to in deciding, I've never wished I could go back and pick differently.)

You should talk to your OB about the FVL. I know a couple people with it, and I believe they all had heavily monitored pregnancies, and were considered "high risk" simply due to FVL status.
  • Options
    Hi Allyphoe Thanks for the response I think that my husband and I have finally made our final choice. I live in a very small town and will have to use a DR. in Reno NV.

Did you get pregnant your first try? I am really nervous about this whole process and I am constantly trying to calm myself down. I just want to make sure that I do everything right for my baby.
  • Options
    Picking a donor is always hard. I started with factors and rank them from most important to least important in a donor.