Options

Reasons for unsucessful cycles?

Hi,

I'm new to this post, but right now I'm just so defeated. I just found out my 5th IUI didn't work. The first three were natural and the last 2 on clomid. The doctors can't find anything wrong with me - clear HSG, hormone levels good, I've always ovulated on my own. My husband has aspermatazia, hence we're using donor sperm. All the sperm counts have been good. The next round will have a HCG trigger shot so that we're more sure of the timing. I'm just wondering how many people had sucess after so many failures? I've always been the eternal optimist, but right now - I just don't know if this will ever work no matter what I do. It would be great to hear how it worked for others.

Comments

• Options
    I feel your pain. I had four unsuccessful IUIs on my natural cycles, followed by a failed IVF cycle. During the IVF cycle 32 eggs were retrieved, but one 18 embryos were still growing on transfer day (Day 3). Two were transferred, and none of the leftover 16 were deemed suitable for freezing. The IVF failed and I was devastated. I was only 24 and the time and sure I would never get pregnant, that something had to be wrong. After taking a year off we started trying again, IUI on my natural cycle, with a different donor (per my doctor's suggestion). Well, I got pregnant on the first try and my daugher is now 19 months old! I just found out I am pregnant again, first try on a natural IUI again, with the same donor we used to have our daughter.

I hope it all works for you!
  • Options
    By the way, I meant "only" 18 embryos were still growing. :-)
  • Options
    Thanks, it's good to hear sucess stories. Congrats on your daugter and your pregnancy - that's wonderful!

I feel like such a whiner, all these people are going through the same sort of thing and here I am crying myself to sleep thinking poor me....